Wooden heart

Image

The rays of a lazy afternoon sun tickled the lover’s faces as it fell to earth through the leafy canopy. They lay in a dozing slumber, enjoying the post sex afterglow.

All around, the trees trembled in a slight breeze, their boughs swaying gently to the music of the summer.

It was only when he felt an odd sensation on his arm that the man opened his eyes.

The majestic oak had a hold of their arms and was hungrily devouring its catch, sucking them in limb by limb.

The lovers screamed in absolute terror, the tree finished its meal.

This entry was posted in Other words. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Wooden heart

  1. Sandra says:

    True horror story! Well done.

  2. MrBinks says:

    Dirty rascals.

  3. AD, I wish now I’d waited until after dinner to read this story. 😦 Well written horror story. It makes me a bit fearful of laying too close to a tree. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

  4. Yikes! I didn’t see that one coming and neither did they, I guess. I like the word play of “sucking them in limb by limb”, since the tree had limbs, too. Good one.

    Two little things–“lovers’ faces” (as there were two of them) and “post-sex.”

    janet

  5. hafong says:

    Oooh, started out as x-rated then ended up in horror! Enjoyed!

  6. Wow! As a post-coital snack is not how any of us would want to end up. Stick to the bedroom? Practice, er, what’s the word…? Er, celibacy?

  7. That’ll teach ’em! No sex in the woods! Well done! 🙂

  8. Brings new meaning to the term, “Tree Hugger.” Excellent story!!

  9. Jan Brown says:

    Love, sex and horror—three favorite things in one story. Well done!

  10. Lulled us in with a scene of love and beauty and then whacked us with the horror. Well done.

  11. I got think of old man willow at once.. The idea of flesh eating trees is enjoyable

  12. Nan Falkner says:

    Wow – Creepy and goodlicious! Honestly, I have a face on my tree and I think I’m going to remove it. Awesome horror story! Nan 🙂

  13. Mike says:

    Oh My Gosh … No more having fun under the trees for me.

  14. Horus says:

    A deadly poke – from the oak ! 🙂

  15. Wow so vivid! I like it!

  16. Sun says:

    well that sure ended nasty. solid story. oh, and thanks for the FF photo this week. 🙂

Leave a comment